Early Spring in Pinstripes 

by lovelysimply


Spring time is a weird and wacky period in New England. Or at least in Maine, New Hampshire, and Massachusetts, which are the respective corners of NE that I’ve inhabited. It can be 80 degrees, 40 degrees, and anywhere in between. With lots of rain. Lots and lots of rain. I always have a hard time dressing in the spring because it’s too early to put sweaters away but it feels wrong to be pulling on dark colors because WE SURVIVED WINTER and that deserves celebration. 


A few weeks ago, when my baby bump already felt huge but was perfectly camouflaged in this delightful Shirt dress, we spent the afternoon in Portsmouth. It was the first warm-ish sunny day that we’d had in weeks, and everyone was in a chummy, magnanimous mood. All the new englanders sort of emerge from their hibernation holes, pale skinned and desperate for iced coffee in those first few warm days. Myself included. 

There were folk bands playing on street corners, families tossing balls on the green, babies everywhere, and quite a few people having an ice cream cone. I wanted one. But I settled for brunch and the obvious iced coffee to go afterwards. It was heavenly. 

Redmond got delightfully filthy, gathered sticks, collected rocks in his pockets, and admired every baby that we passed. It was the sort of day that fills my bucket. I need days like that. Days with my husband, days where there is no real agenda, days where I put on a cute outfit and maybe some makeup and feel proud to be seen with my little family. Motherhood can be isolating–even as a part time working mom, there are still days where I have limited adult interaction, limited time with Nick, and I crave to just be with him. Away from the chores at home. Away from the dishes in the sink. Just us.


Sometimes I feel giddy when I remember that the “just us” will include another little human in a few months time. I cannot imagine loving anything as much as I love Redmond, and I am so excited to feel my heart expand and grow to fit our second precious child into. It is a beautiful time of life that we live in. On the days where the dog poops in the house (why? Why Lupe why?), my toddler won’t stop whining, and I spill green smoothie all over myself en route to work (yesterday, I’m looking at you…) it’s good to remember that.

Dress c/o Metisu (on sale now! Fits true to size and is fantastic quality. And hides an early baby bump magnificently.)

