Dog Days of Summer

by lovelysimply

img_8218img_8222

img_8216

The past few weeks have been peppered with super hot days. Like the sort of August days I remember as a kid. For some reason, summers in New England seemed much warmer then. Maybe kids just don’t get cold…which would explain how we were able to spend hours in frigid ocean waters while I can barely get past my knees now.

Last weekend, we went on a spontaneous little day trip with some friends of ours to Hampton Beach. Its only about a half hour from our house, and I used to go there as a child with my grandparents every summer that we were in the U.S. But for whatever reason, I have never been there as an adult. It had a real cool sort of west coast vibe to it with surf shops and taco joints and smoothie shops. I wore this vintage-y swim suit from PakPak and was feeling all California cool until I actually put a toe in the water and it was insanely, insanely cold. Like, aching numb feet cold. Like, you probably couldn’t have paid me to get all the way in cold. So cold. Needless to say, we didn’t do any swimming. But we DID have a really great lunch at the secret spot— a taco for me, a fish burrito for Nick, and a green smoothie for Red. Although, let’s be real, he ate half my taco too. We are going to have to start ordering him his own meals because the kid eats so much. img_8225

Don’t be misled by his grumpy face. He had a straw in one hand and a smoothie in his sippy cup and all was right in his little worldimg_8219img_8221

img_8217

As a teenager, I was obsessed with Marilyn Monroe in particular and 1950’s/60’s style in general. I spent hours scouring the internet for vintage inspired swim suits back in the mid 2000’s, (is that what one would call 2004/5/6?) with very little luck. So, the fact that high waisted swim suits have been in for the past few years brings me no end of joy. NO END I tell you. Add to that the fact that I don’t have to worry about that extra bit of post giant baby belly skin to the mix, and I’m one happy beach bather. Also, I love the pattern. And the fact that I was the only girl on the beach wearing a suit like this. Again. I really like to stand out from the crowd. I’ll admit it. I was a theater major for goodness sakes, its in my blood. Running through it like a show-offy wine. I’m kidding. I’m not kidding. Maybe I’m kidding.

Anyway. We wrapped up our beach day with a naked diaper bum baby (after he covered himself in sand) and a peek at our friends new camper van. Which made me really want a camper van. Which made Nick really want a tent. Which caused us to spend a day at L.L. Bean looking at tents…Nick was starry eyed imagining the fun we’d have in some remote area and I was imagining the special kind of crazy it would be to camp with a one-year-old who loves the hell out of his crib and his ten hours straight a night in that crib….would that mix with the great outdoors and a sleeping bag? Would it? I’m willing to find out, but only if we stash a good bottle of tequila in our backpacks….img_8224

Outfit details: swimsuit top and bottom (super affordable) c/o/ heart shaped sunglassessimilar sandals/overalls (Mine are sold out, but I love this flared version for fall)beach tote c/o and on sale

 

