Social Summer

by lovelysimply

img_6381

img_6378

To be honest, I have been feeling a little bit overwhelmed/discouraged/anxious lately. I mean, if you read my post below this one, you will know that. And while it was mostly a tongue in cheek sort of reflection, there is a good amount of truth to it. I can’t quite put my finger on it, and maybe it is nothing, but I have been sort of mildly struggling. And, social media is really fun. I have a great time with it. I do. But it also has the unassailable ability to make one feel not good enough. As if your worth is based off of the amount of likes that a photo gets. And I find myself imagining that if I could just buy that big bouquet of peonies, or just go out to that place that has the great acai bowls everyday, I would be perfectly happy. Which, of course, is completely untrue. img_6382

I have been trying to actively disengage from time to time, not because I don’t like seeing other people’s photos or reading other people’s blogs. I love doing all that stuff. But because I need to remind myself that my life is what is around me. My life is my husband, my son, my sister, my friends, my piano. I want to start writing–really writing– again. I want to read a gosh darn book this summer. Probably Harry Potter…because, um, JULY 31st GUYS! I want to live in the moment and not be constantly worrying if I am stylish enough, or if my house is pretty enough (it’s not) or if my day-to-day activities are fun enough, or if I am a “fit” enough mommy, or if I am a good enough mommy. I just want to remember to be. Because it is enough. It’s all enough. img_6380

As I’ve mentioned before, one of the things that helps when I go through these “down” periods is to stay busy. It takes a little more forethought to be out and about with Redmond, but it’s completely worth it. It helps to have a diaper bag stocked with food, water, sunscreen, and a ball. It’s honestly hard for me to remember that he needs solid food now because for so long, he was content with breastmilk. So I have to actively remind myself to pack his fruit and crackers– or a sandwhich if we are going to be out for a long time– in my bag.  I have quite a collection of gorgeous diaper bags, but I am going to go out on a limb and say…the one I have in these photos from Mina Baie is my favorite. It is definitely a luxury item, but it is incredibly gorgeous and built so that even though it is SO BIG and roomy, it feels really light on my shoulder. It is also super easy  to find stuff because the pockets are wide and visible. It’s one of those pieces that I get complimented on everywhere I go. And they are a start up company that is run by two best friends which makes it all the better. I’d love to run a company with one of my besties. img_6379
I have matching stroller attachments, but our stroller is the perfect size to just hang it over the handle. But…when I want to feel extra classy I use the attachments.

The weather has been warm– hot even– for the past few days (after a weirdly cold weekend) and I have been living in cut off shorts and breezy dresses like this one. And I’ll share with you my “secret” for wearing short dresses as a mom. Since I’m constantly bending over to pick Redmond up, or having him tug on my clothes– you know– I wear bike shorts under everything. That way I don’t have to worry about flashing the neighborhood when I load him into his car seat or stroller. It works like a charm. img_6384

Anyway. We are walking into the weekend, and I am so excited for a little family day adventure tomorrow. Thank you all for reading. And I would love to hear your thoughts on your feelings about social media!

Thanks to Mina Baie for sending me this beautiful bag. I was not compensated for my opinion, and my thoughts are 100% my own. I love being able to collaborate with small, female owned businesses like this one. 

Dress c/o THML clothingwatch c/o Daniel Wellington/

