Living in Vacationland

by lovelysimply

I grew up driving with my family from our little town in Massachusetts to Wells, Maine to spend weekends at my grandparents’ beautiful cottage. When I got married, my husband I moved into an apartment one town over from York and Ogunquit which are basically the vaca-capitols of our fine state. So I have a pretty deep set love and loyalty to this area that I live in. 
 During the summer, we go to the beach a LOT. This year, we are trying to take some little Stay-Cations during the off season while B&B rates are super low. This gorgeous overnight tote from Toss Designs just screams New England weekend, and I love it.


  I thought I’d give a little round up of our favorite local restaurants to all you non locals out there. And if you happen to swing up this way over the warmer months, try them out!
Breakfast

Congdons doughnuts in Wells.  You guys. If I could only eat at one place forever, it would be here. The doughnuts are RIDICULOUS and the biscuit sandwiches are amazing. If you have time for a sit down meal, do yourself a favor and order the corned beef hash. I’m a hash lover and it’s the best I’ve EVER had.
St. Joes Coffee in York. This is a great spot for a quick to-go breakfast before your beach walk or stroll downtown. They have tons of breakfast sandwich varieties. I love the mozzarella-tomato-pesto English muffin and the broccoli-caramalized onion-cheddar-egg white sandwhich. They also have reeeeeaaaallll good Maine blueberry iced coffee during the summer.
Lils cafe in Kittery. Sometimes I dream about the almond croissant at Lils. It’s amazing. Crusted in sugary almonds, packed with paste–I die. They also have fantastic homemade cruellers that are super crispy/soft. The perfect combo. Eat your fill, and then work it off by shopping all the outlets which are a few minutes away from downtown Kittery.

Lunch/Dinner:

The Front Porch in Ogunquit. The food here is good (nothing outrageously amazing, but tasty) but the entertainment is phenomenal. They have these fantastic piano sing-a-longs, and Nick and I belt out the broadway hits while sipping cocktails and lounging against the grand piano. I’m not kidding. Yes, we usually are the youngest people there, and we like it. After the sing-a-long, they have a drag performance on the weekend. And the place gets BUMPIN’! It is so much fun.

Fogarty’s in South Berwick. This place is a little off the beaten path, but so worth it. If you want classic New England home-style fare, and a MASSIVE old fashioned from scratch dessert selection, get your bum to Fogarty’s. In the summer they have a Strawberry Cream Pie…buttery crust, a layer of cheese cake, a layer of strawberry preserves, topped with mass amounts of fresh whipping cream, and a fresh strawberry or  two. It is so good, it should be illegal.

The Black Trumpet in Portsmouth, NH. We live right near the coast, so we frequent Portsmouth as well. And if you visit Southern Maine, you HAVE  to go to Portsmouth cause its a great little town. The Black Trumpet is definitely date-night material. Its pricey, and fancy, and wonderful. Its inside of an old wine storage building on the shipping wharf. Think dark wood, narrow windows, heavy oak beams, old brick walls. So romantic, so gorgeous. We like to have a drink at the bar upstairs (I love the signature Black Trumpet cocktail– vanilla beans, smashed blackberries ect) before having dinner in the cozy dining room downstairs. The menu is ever changing, and always locally sourced and creative.

The Friendly Toast in Portsmouth. This place is sort of comically hip and very nostalgic to me. My college friends and I would drive up from the North Shore of Massachusetts back in the day just to get breakfast and a mojito milkshake at midnight. The food is super creative and delicious, and they make killer homemade bread. My long time favorite is the Mexican Mashed Meal– spicy smashed potatos, chorizo sausage, fried eggs, and a big, buttery hunk of classic New England Anadama bread.

When Pigs Fly in Kittery. And speaking of bread, this list would never be complete without mentioning When Pigs Fly which is one of my favorite spots in the universe. They started out as just an incredible bakery and expanded to include an equally incredible pizzeria. They have dozens of bread varieties– all of which you can sample at a big old bread bar–at their bakery. Think Wild Blueberry Granola bread. Or spinach, garlic, potato bread. Or ginger-pineapple-sesame bread. You feel me? If you eat at the restaurant, get the crispy, spicy brussells sprouts to start. You’ll thank me.

And there you have it. I could go on for ages because I love food, and we love eating out…If you have any questions, shoot me an email!

outfit: sweater similar/skirt, c/o/straw hat, similar/overnight bag, c/o

