Well-Earned Granola Bars

by lovelysimply


If you follow me on snapchat (simply_hj) you’ll see a good amount of food content. I love cooking. I love inventing. I love eating good, whole food. I DON’T love counting calories. For me, that is a slippery slope and one that I need to stay well off of. Especially with breast feeding, I try to get plenty of tasty, real food into my body every day. Because I love cardio workouts, I need a little extra which is why I’ve titled these the Well-Earned bar. I have one after my morning sweat session, and it hits the spot. I have no idea how many calories are in them, but they are full of good fats and keep me satisfied.

 I am perfecting a recipe for a soft, chewy bar. These ones are soft but a little crumbly. Which makes them perfect for eating on their own or putting on top of some fruit and yogurt for a little treat.

 You could also add in more nuts or dried fruit–I made them on the cheap (I talk a lot about budgets…and our grocery budget is one that is challenging in a fun way for me) so I kept it pretty simple. I really love granola bars but I HATE the cheap ones that are filled with fake ingredients and never satisfy me. And I love buying small batch homemade ones from local sources, but they get seriously expensive. At my gym they are 2.50 PER BAR. I can’t afford that. These are the perfect alternative.

Well Earned Bar

3 cups quick oats (this keeps them from getting too crunchy. The old fashioned oats don’t quite do it.)

2/3 cup unsweetened shredder coconut

3/4 cup natural peanut butter or other nut butter(smooth is best)

1/2 cup melted coconut oil

1/3 cup molasses and maple syrup (or just maple syrup. I like the flavor of molasses though)

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

2 tbs chia seeds

Combine all ingredients until everything is blended. Press into a 9×9 pan and refrigerate for at least an hour. Cut into pieces and enjoy!


If you want more snack and meal ideas, follow me on snap chat and let me know what you’d like me to post recipes to!

