Changes on the Fringe

This past Sunday, I wore this Fringed sweatshirt with my favorite flared jeans and a pair of low cowboy boots that I wear all the time. We went to a new cafe in town for coffee and a treat with Redmond (obviously), and Nick and I were chatting about how our lives are so different than they used to be.  I though it would be fun to talk about some of those changes here. Because why would I want to write a few words when I could write many?
  Of course, regular things change. Big changes, yes, but sort of normal and expected ones if you follow that path. Marriage. Moves. Babies. But so many little things have changed over the years too. Things that I don’t necessarily think of all the time, because they have eased themselves so naturally into my life. 
  1. I used to LOATHE HATE AND DESPISE mornings. I taught a toddler music and theatre class at 9:45 at out local gym back when I was in my early 20’s, and getting out of bed early enough to make it to that class was nearly impossible. Now? By 9:45 half the day has gone by! I love getting up at 6 am. I love feeling accomplished. I love my morning workouts. I am a morning person.

2. I used to abhor working out. As you know, if you have been reading for a while, I love exercising now. But throughout college and just post college, I would try all the time to become a “fit” person. Every new year, I would resolve to work out at least three days a week. I would maybe join a gym. I’d hit up the machines. I always hated it. Honestly though, it is because I hadn’t found my niche. I love classes. I love cardio. I love running outside (in good weather). I hate treadmills, elliptical machines, and weights. But with the right workouts as a part of my life, I look forward to exercising on most days. Not all days. But most.

  3. I used to be so insecure about my body. I remember dreading going to the beach and wearing a swimsuit. I used to be uncomfortable about wearing tight clothing. I still struggle with insecurity (more on that here) but living a fit and active life, plus birthing a totally adorable baby boy (if I do say so myself) has made me look with such love and pride on my physique. And I can’t wait to wear a bathing suit this summer!

4. I used to wear dresses and heels almost daily. I still like to dress up, but for the most part, I keep it casual. Part of that is being a mom. But a bigger part of that is just an adjustment of taste. There is something so satisfying about a really good casual look. Embarrassingly, sometimes it takes me longer to get that perfectly undone look just right than it would to get glammed up. I know. So lame. I can’t help it. It’s that ever elusive slouch factor. You feel me?

Anyway. I just got home and am trying to get dinner the on the table before Redmond gets up from his nap. Today has been a good nap day. Oh, another change…days that revolve around good naps. It’s a battle.

So. I want to know. What are some of the changes in your life?

Outfit details:

Sweatshirt c/o Shein
Sunglasses Karen walker via Ditto
Similar jeans: Splurge and Steal Boots: old but I love These ones