Pumpkin-Apple Spice Oatmeal

by lovelysimply

  

I love mornings. Which is funny because I used to hate mornings. Specifically in my early twenties when I was always a touch under the weather in the a.m. from too many cocktails and not enough sleep. Now? Well, one cocktail is about as much as I can handle and I go to bed at 10:00 (if I can stay up that late) and wake up at 6:00. Which is roughly the schedule of a ninety-five year old great grandmother and I’m fine with it.  

I nurse Redmond in the dim, almost dark early morning light. After he is full, he goes back to sleep for two hours, and it is my quiet time. I make the bed, get into my gym clothes, wash the dishes. I pour myself a hot mug of coffee, and top it with cinnamon, and the smell is divine to me. I wax poetic about morning coffee. There is nothing like it. Afternoon coffee is nice, but morning coffee is something unto itself, a sort of magic. Right? 

   The past week, I’ve also been making myself a bowl of this sweet, filling pumpkin-apple spice oatmeal. It warms me on these chilly days, and it keeps me full through my morning work-outs. Which is saying something because work-out + nursing = one hungry mama on the daily.  

 It’s quick and easy and tastes like a steaming bowl of the holiday season which is my favorite time of year. I love winter. Until January 6th ( the day after my birthday) and then I hate winter because I hate to be cold and I hate how long it lasts here… But the holidays are blissful to me.

Anyway. Make yourself a bowl of this to get you in that thanksgiving to Christmas mood!

Pumpkin-Apple Spice Oatmeal

1/2 Apple

2 tsp molasses

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 cup water

1/2 cup old fashioned oats

2 tbs pure pumpkin purée

Slice the apple into bite size pieces and put them in a pot. Drizzle 1 tsp molasses on top and stir over medium heat. Add 1 cup water and turn to high heat. When the water boils, add 1/2 cup old fashioned oats and stir. When it begins to thicken, reduce heat and add the remaining ingredients. And you’re done! So eat up. 

 

