Days Like These

by lovelysimply

   
The days fly by. Thanksgiving is almost here. Redmond is three months old. It feels like moments ago that I was large bellied with him, and the heat was heavy all over New England. How is Christmas next month? The days are short now. We walked on the beach this past week on a warm autumn afternoon, and the sun was setting gloriously, beautifully, but at 4:00.  

    
 In the evenings, Nick puts Redmond to sleep after his last nurse. I listen on the monitor to this man that I love pray a little prayer with this child I adore. He tells our son how much he loves him, how special he is, and my heart just about overflows. Every night, I am excited for the morning to come so I can see my boys smile and hear his laugh. I don’t want this time to end. I want the days to slow down. 

    
I’ve never known a happiness like this or such an overwhelming sense of contentment. That this is what I’m supposed to be doing. That there is a purpose to the hours of my day. The feelings of loneliness that I often struggle with are quelled by my sons big blue eyes that look at me with absolute trust, with complete and total love. I want these days to stay with me. I want time to slow itself, just for us, if it would. 

   

 

