Apple and Apple Cake and the Apple of my Eye

by lovelysimply

   
First off, oh my goodness this weekend was like a fresh breath of air down my air starved lungs. Having Nick home, having coffee dates and lunch dates with friends, having slow mornings with my baby and husband…fan-flipping-tastic. Also the ridiculously beautiful autumn weather helped.

   
 
  But I will say I loved spending so much time with my sister over our long, mostly solo week. She and I fought a lot growing up. I’m five and a half years older than her, and since my mom was sick for most her life (my sisters life that is) and passed away when she was only twelve, I was super bossy and smothering towards my baby sister. But now we are both moms and live within a half hour of each other and we get along great. It’s amazing to have someone to talk to about the weirdness of being a mom and , should my baby have green poo right at this moment? And will he ever stop nursing every second? (I jest? But somedays it feels like all he does is eat off his mama-moo-cow.) Its a blessing to have a sister. And a niece that I could not love more if I tried. 

Anyway, we hit the apple orchard together, my sister made this deliriously tasty applesauce (recipe to come maybe if I have all the energy to make my own batch and photograph   it. Because I may just end up eating all the apples with peanut butter while nursing my huge baby and watching Ms. Fishers murder mysteries LIKE YOU DO. No? Just me?) and with the applesauce I made a Better For You applesauce cake.  

    
 Simply Applesauce Cake

 2 1/2 cups flour (I mixed cake flour and all purpose)

1 cup brown sugar

1 1/2 ts. Baking soda

1/4 ts. Baking powder

Healthy pinch of sea salt

1 ts. Cinnamon

1/2 ts. Nutmeg

1/4 cup unsweetened coconut flakes

2 tbs molasses 

1/4 cup oil

1/2 cup water

1 3/4 cups applesauce 

2 eggs.

Combine wet ingredients and then stir in the dry. Pour into a 9/9 baking dish and bake at 350 for about 50 minutes. Top with additional applesauce if you want it like I did. 

And to end this: the apple of my eye. 

 

Sling carrier c/o Joho baby

Reds outfit: sweater/hat, old navy

Leggings: target

