Flower Powers

by lovelysimply

 

So, due to the evil scourge of Mastitis, my husband and I actually missed our date night to go out for our three year anniversary. Luckily we celebrate most things late, so it didn’t matter, and we waited until last night to dress up, load our baby into the stroller, and head down to our local Fancy Restaurant.  


  We went to Thistle Pig, which has an always fabulous, always changing menu, chock full of local meat and produce. We ate well, drank well, and had grown up conversation. Which usually winds up being about raising children –it’s always been a favorite topic of ours. That, and general gossip. You know. Gotta keep up on everyone. 
     

After days of stumbling around the house in ragged pajamas or just straight up topless (so much extra nursing of the extra painful variety) it felt indescribably good to get a little glam in this gorgeous floral gown and put on some make up and spend stress free time with the man that I love so much it hurts sometimes. He is so good to me, patient, playful, and he happens to be really damn good looking too. I don’t know how I got so lucky and that is a cliche but it is true. 

   

I also don’t know how I got so lucky with this little guy. Even if my boobs WERE still so swollen for our date that I could barely get them into my nursing bra… He’s so cute and was so handsome in his date night outfit I almost died. 

 He slept all the way until our chocolate stout cake came out for dessert… Then maybe he wanted some, I don’t know, but he got pretty noisy. We got it to go, and ate it while I nursed him, and it was a lovely evening. 

Dress: thrifted

Red’s shirt: Gap baby 

