Getting Back in my Jeans

by lovelysimply

To be fair I haven’t actually tried any of my jeans on. It’s been 90 degrees with New England humidity on the daily so that ain’t happening. But in essence, once fall hits (which I like except for the fact that it heralds Six Months of Hell aka winter) I want to be getting back into my fall wardrobe so I’m not buying a whole new one.  

 So, here is a little recap of my two week postpartum “progress” and what I’ve been snacking on to combat the nursing hungries (or in my case, shakes/weakness) and what I’ve been doing to stay active while I wait to be cleared back into my normal cardio routine.  

I gained just under 40 pounds while pregnant. After birthing my ten pounder, plus losing all that water/deswelling ( not a word–should be a word)/placenta/blood I was down 20 of that. After two weeks of heavy nursing, light exercise, and hearty, healthy eating (you need calories to produce milk!) I’m 9 pounds from my original weight. I’m perfectly happy with that for now.  

Also my boobs are roughly the size of the twin peaks and those aren’t going anywhere any time soon. Redmond rejoices, I weep. Because I imagine once I CAN be jumping and running again they’ll be wacking me in the face. 

Anyway, the day I incidentally started labor, I made a bunch of healthy snacks to freeze and eat through so I’m not reaching for quick fixes that would be less satisfying and worse for me (packaged snack food/empty carbs). I made two kinds of muffins packed with oats, flax seed, fruit and honey to sweeten, and whole wheat flour. I also made a batch of my favorite peanut butter cranberry granola bars.  

First up, carrot cake muffins.  


   
I used This recipe from Ambitious Kitchen without the frosting and with the coconut. I added dried cranberries, about 1/4 cup flax seed, and some sunflower seeds to my batch. They are seriously delicious, especially with a jam dollop.

I also made a batch of Strawberry oat muffins via Ambitious Kitchen.

   I added 1/4 cup flax seed to these as well, and doubled the strawberries because I had TONS of them. They are insanely delicious. 

Red wakes up typically around 6:30, and I’m pretty shaky and weak after a night of nursing every 2-3 hours. So before I give him breakfast, I come down and eat one of these muffins with a little jam. We typically take a 2-3 mile walk before 9 am, and when we get home I have a big bowl of granola/fruit/yogurt before feeding my hungry little man again. 

For my afternoon lunches, I’ve been loving salads and my current obsession is a caprese salad because we have fresh basil and tomatoes from our porch garden.

  
It’s healthy and filling with the buffalo mozzarella. Add a drizzle of olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper, and it’s so good I could eat it daily. 

I typically have a granola bar between lunch and dinner, and my homemade ones are way better than the boxed ones. 

  

(Naked nails. No shame. It’s hard to paint them between baby feedings)

So the tricky thing is, I never measure when I make these… I just add the ingredients until the texture is right and call it good. So what I have here are estimates–the bars should stick together and you should be able to press the mixture into a brownie pan easily.

Peanut Butter Cranberry Granola Bars

3 cups old fashioned oats

1/4 cup flax seed

1/3 cup natural, smooth peanut butter (more if needed)

1/4 cup good honey

1/3 cup unsweetened coconut

2 tbs sunflower seeds

1/4 cup dried cranberries

2 tbs chia seeds

Put all ingredients except cranberries and seeds into a food processor. Pulse until combined. If it is not sticking together, add peanut butter and honey one tbs at a time until it reaches the right consistency. Stir in cranberries and seeds, then press the mixture into a brownie pan and cover with clear wrap. Place in freezer for at least two hours, then slice into bars and freeze in a ziplock bag.

So that’s that. In other related news, I’ve been occasionally wearing a girdle/control top shorts to get my waist back but over all not super bothering because…again…humid. Hot. Sweating and leaking breast milk. 

In the evenings we try to go on another short walk as a family once it cools down a bit. And today I went back to kick boxing and Nick and Red had a daddy son morning doing some household shopping. I didn’t do much jumping, but it felt great. 
If you girls have any questions or tips and recipes of your own, I’d love to see them in the comments!  

 
Happy Friday!

